SPEED S.E.J.A. #802

OPERATING COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

Regular Meeting SPEED Operating Committee SPEED Building 9:00 a.m.

March 13, 2015

At 9:01 a.m. Mr. Bean called the meeting to order.

ROLL CALL

On a roll call the following answered present: Ms. Hardmon, 144; Dr. Mitchell, 153; Ms. Duskey, 162; Dr. Carmine, 163; Mr. Smyth, 172; Dr. Navarre, 206; Dr. Mansfield; 233; and Mr. Bean.

Dr. Moore, 167 and Dr. Leak, 168 arrived after the roll call.

Absent

Mr. Doster, 161; Dr. Jackson, 169; Mr. Amadio, 170; Mr. Thieman, 194; Dr. Cunningham, 201U; and Dr. Ayanlaja, 227.

Recognition of Visitors

Ms. Rositter was present, as well as the following SPEED staff; Terri Sharpp, Director of Business/Finance; Kristin Elliott, Director of Professional Development and District Services; Linda Wilson, PAL Program Principal; Felice Hybert, ELC Program Principal; Jessica Chen, Transition Program Principal; Dan Dannenberg, Technology Supervisor; Otis Taylor, Independence Program Principal; Nicole Taylor, ELC Interim Assistant Principal, and Janet Nozar, SEA President.

Report from the Superintendent

Ms. Rossiter stated that Robert Mace from Sikich Company has been interviewing the business office staff and auditing procedures to streamline the department functions. Mr. Craig Englert from District 162 has also been assisting Terri Sharpp on functions of a business manager and Mr. Bob Fenema has been working on the budget. A report on their findings and suggestions will be presented to the Board in the near future. The Legacy Audit deficiencies have been corrected and a report will also be present to the Board.

PAARC testing is moving forward in spite of the glitches in the system.

The Architect, Mario Planera is preparing for the request for bids for the renovation of the transition program at 410 Ashland Avenue.

All staff evaluations have been completed by the March 1 deadline.

As of March 1, 428 students are enrolled at SPEED and is lower than anticipated.

Several staff members participated in the Polar Plunge and raise \$3,000 for Special Olympics.

The SPEED Assistive Technology (AT) awards ceremony will now be held on the evening of May 13 at 7:00 p.m. allowing more parents to attend.

1:1 iPad Initiative

Ms. Rossiter introduced Nicole Taylor, ELC Interim Assistant Principal, and Dan Dannenberg, Technology Supervisor. They presented a PowerPoint and explained the concept behind the program. The program will award SPEED iPads for the purpose of enhancing skill acquisition through increased individualized instruction, time on task and independent learning.

Financial Report

Ms. Sharpp, Director of Business and Finance reviewed the financial data.

CONSENT AGENDA

Mr. Smyth moved, seconded by Dr. Mitchell that the Operating Committee approves the Consent Agenda as presented.

Personnel Report

Approval of Minutes of January 23, 2015

Approval of Closed Session Minutes of January 23, 2015

Approval of Imprest Fund and Activity Fund for January 2015 and February 2015

Approval of Recurring Bills from January 30, 2015 in the amount of \$91,431.49

Approval of Recurring Bills from February 13, 2015 in the amount of \$110,317.67 and from February 27, 2015 in the amount of \$77,325.66

Contract Services with Bob Fennema, Business Consultant for Business and Finance, at a rate of \$100.00 per hour not to exceed \$20,000 beginning February 12, 2015 and ending June 30, 2015.

On a roll call vote: Ayes: 144, 153, 162, 163, 167, 168, 172, 206, 233, and Mr. Bean.

Nays: None

Motion carried.

END CONSENT AGENDA

Mr. Smyth moved, seconded by Dr. Navarre that the Operating Committee approves the following:

RESOLUTIONS:

Dismissal and Non-Renewal of the following Certified Personnel

Christine Bilus Mollie Feltman
Karen Danielian Rebecca Kinst
Angela Darling Eric Potempa
Emmanuel Davies Gina Propok

Dismissal and Non-Renewal of the following Non-Certified Support Personnel

Raymond Billings, Jr. Shavonne Hudson Denise Moore
Tanya Coleman Sammella Johnson Latisha McCall
Portia Collins Mandy Knaak Frankie Neal

Rosemarie Garner Lisa Magyar Chemonte Peppers

Dallas Hampton Darryl Meek

NEW BUSINESS

Calendar for 2015-2016 School Year for submission to ISBE.

<u>BoardBook Subscription</u> agreement with IASB for BoardBook online meeting facilitation software in the amount of \$1,500 from April 1 – December 31, 2015 and \$2,000 per year thereafter.

On a roll call vote: Ayes: 144, 153, 162, 163, 167, 168, 172, 206, 233, and Mr. Bean.

Nays: None

Motion carried.

Election of Operating Committee Secretary

Dr. Navarre nominated, seconded by Dr. Leak that Dr. Jackson serve as the Operating Committee Secretary for the 2015-2016 school year according to the SPEED Articles of Agreement.

Motion carried by voice vote.

CLOSED SESSION

At 9:30 a.m. Dr. Leak moved, seconded by Dr. Mitchell that the Operating Committee goes into closed session to discuss personnel and imminent litigation.

Motion carried by voice vote.

At 9:55 a.m. Dr. Navarre moved, seconded by Dr. Leak that the Operating Committee returns to open session.

Action on issues as discussed in closed session

Closed Session Minutes

Dr. Carmine moved, seconded by Dr. Mansfield that the Operating Committee approves to keep the following closed session minutes, closed to the public. August 15, 2014, May 16, 2014, March 7, 2014, and January 24, 2014.

Motion carried by voice vote.

INFORMATION ITEMS

ESY15 Program Costs

Governing Board meeting minutes from January 29, 2015

Non-Recurring bills from February 23, 2015 in the amount of \$184,216.89

SPEED Staff Institute Day flyer

<u>ADJOURNMENT</u>	
At 10:56 a.m. Mr. Bean adjourned the meeti	ng.
	Dr. Dale Mitchell, Secretary Pro-Tem Mary Keenan, Recording Secretary
Date:	
	Mr. Ron Bean, President SPEED Operating Committee